Walking with Merrels and Vibrams through Kiev

I am currently back in Kiev (this also being the reason for my lack of blog-posts lately). As for exercises: zilch / nada / rien / null points. It is WAY TO HOT – it feels like July or August. And I am busy all day (how does three hours at the dentist sound?).

Which brings me to the main topic of this post: the one exercise I am doing is walking, maybe 10km/day. And all I have for shoes is the Merrell True Glove, and the Vibram Five Finger KSO’s. Boy – my calves hurt.

This is really surprising: I was wearing the Merrells (and to a lesser extent the VFF’s) in London for almost six weeks, but of course I am walking much less (I take my kick-scooter everywhere, or occasionally a Boris bike, or the subway if it is for work).

So in London, everything honkey-dorey. Here: ouch! Not only the muscles, but also the Achilles tendon – not bad, but complaining nevertheless.

Facit: easy tiger with the transition to barefoot shoes – decades of wearing “normal” ones can not be reversed in a few short days, or even weeks it seems…

Leave a Reply

